Safety Task Force

The purpose of the Safety Task Force was to work collectively to define “Safe Schools,” identify both the structures and the services necessary to support a safe school environment, and ultimately make recommendations to the Board of Education and the Superintendent regarding future work.

The committee was comprised of internal and external partners, including community advocates, law enforcement officers, social services personnel, students, teachers, principals, and district administrators. The Safety Task Force worked collaboratively to review research on best practices relative to safe schools, identify our current reality, and pinpoint gaps in our systems. 

The committee met five times during the 2018-2019 school year. Committee lead, Tim Zearley, Associate Superintendent, Business Services, presented the committee recommendations to the Board of Education and the Superintendent at the June 17, 2019 Board of Education meeting. 

2018-2019 Meeting Dates 

October 23, 2018, 1-4 p.m.
Staff Development 1 & 2

December 4, 2018, 1-4 p.m.
Staff Development 1 & 2

December 18, 2018, 1-4 p.m.
Staff Development 1 & 2

January 9, 2019, 1-4 p.m.
Staff Development 1 & 2

February 5, 2019, 1-4 p.m.
Staff Development 1 & 2

Safety Task Force Committee Members


Title, Organization

Aaron Anguiano

President, Latino Community Roundtable

Adolfo Lopez

Trustee, Modesto City Schools

Alan Ernst

Chief, Modesto Fire Department

Amanda Moore

Principal, Enochs High School

Becky Fortuna

Public Information Officer, Modesto City Schools

Brad Goudeau

Senior Director, Educational Services

Brian Findlen

Captain, Modesto Police Department

Bryan Wilson

Supervisor, Maintenance & Operations

Cindy Marks

Trustee, Modesto City Schools

Cindy Minter

Senior Director, Information & Tech Services

Darrel James

1st Vice President, Modesto Teachers Association

David Collins

Program Manager, Center for Human Services

David Sanchez

Principal, Roosevelt Jr. High

Debbie Barrera

Advocate, We R La Raza

Doug Burton

President, Modesto Teachers Association

Ed Miller

Director II, Child Welfare & Attendance, Modesto City Schools

Elizabeth Anderson

Teacher, Elliott Alternative Education Center

Galen Carroll

Chief, Modesto Police Department

Gladys Williams

President, NAACP Modesto/Stanislaus

Jason Manning

Principal, Modesto High

Jeff Pishney

Executive Director, Love Modesto/Love Our Cities

Jeremiah Williams

Owner, Oak Crafts by Jeremiah

Jose Sabala

President, South Modesto Partnerships

Larry Johnson

School Safety Officer Supervisor, Modesto City Schools

Lazaro Ornelas

President, California School Employees Association, 007

Madie Herrera

Director, Student, Parent & Community Support Services

Mario Savala

School Safety Officer, Modesto City Schools

Mark Herbst

Assistant Superintendent, SELPA, Modesto City Schools

Marla Mack

Associate Superintendent, Educational Services, Modesto City Schools

Mike Henderson

Interim Associate Superintendent, Human Resources

Nona Baptista

Administrative Assistant, Shackelford Elementary School

Paula McDaniels

Administrative Assistant, La Loma Junior High School

Perfecto Munoz

Executive Director, West Modesto Collaborative

Ray Hickman

School Safety Officer, Modesto City Schools

Rev. Darius Crosby

Senior Pastor, Greater Glory Missionary Church

Rick Fritzemeier

Executive Director, Youth for Christ

Rickey McGill

Community Member

Roger Orth

Senior Director, Maintenance & Operations, Modesto City Schools

Sara Noguchi, Ed.D

Superintendent, Modesto City Schools

Scott Genzmer

Principal, Franklin Elementary School

Shelby Benz

Student, Modesto High School

Steve Stanfield

Lieutenant, Modesto Police Department

Tami Rubacalva

Administrative Assistant, Beyer High School

Tim Zearley

Associate Superintendent, Business Services

Yamilet Valladolid

Government Affairs, Golden Valley Health Center

Yaser Herrera

Executive Director, Modesto Teachers Association