District Data 2013-2014

DATA DASHBOARD 9-12  (click to enlarge)

CAHSEE Pass Rate

All California high school students must pass the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE) to earn a high school diploma.

The CAHSEE helps ensure students graduate from high school with grade level skills in English language arts and math. Scores of 350 or higher are considered passing. Students first take the CAHSEE in 10th grade and have multiple opportunities to retake the test if they are not successful on the first attempt. Data shown represents pass rates for 10th graders taking the CAHSEE for the first time.
CAHSEE Proficiency

Federal law requires schools and districts to demonstrate Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) in English language arts and math. An important component of AYP in high school is proficiency for 10th graders on the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE).

To make AYP, all students must demonstrate their proficiency on the CAHSEE by earning scores of 380 or higher.
English Learner Reclassification

The goal for all English Learners is to become proficient in English and grade level standards in all subjects measured by:
  1. California English Language Development Test (CELDT)
  2. California Standards Test (CST)
  3. Grades in core classes: Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Science

When these three criteria are met, an English Learner is determined to be fluent in English and is reclassified to fluent English proficient.
Advanced Placement

Advanced Placement (AP) classes bring the college experience to your high school. Students who take the challenge of AP coursework become academically prepared for college. The successful completion of AP courses starts students on the path to college majors and careers. Students experience the rigor and challenge of college-level coursework.

When students successfully complete an AP class they have the opportunity to take the commensurate AP exam. Upon scoring a 3 or higher on the AP exam, the student may receive college credit upon entry to the student’s college of choice. The experience AP classes provide is invaluable for students who seek a college education after high school.
Completion of Semester Units

By the end of the freshman year, students should complete 60 units. The completion of 60 units is defined as passing six classes in each of two semesters with a D- or better grade. Successful completion of 60 units during the freshman year is an indicator of future success in high school. Students who do not complete 60 units are in jeopardy of not completing high school. Students have the opportunity to retake failed classes in extended summer school and summer school (see your counselor).

Career-Technical Education is a program of study that involves a multiyear sequence of courses that integrates core academic knowledge with technical and occupational knowledge to provide students with a pathway to postsecondary education and careers.

These are programs that help all students acquire challenging academic and technical skills and be prepared for high-skill, high-wage, or high-demand occupations in the 21st century global economy.
What are "A-G" requirements?

The University of California (UC) and California State Universaity (CSU) systems require entering freshmen to complete specific courses in high school. These courses are called the "a-g" courses because of the letter each subject area is assigned: “a” is for History/Social Science, “b” is for English, and so on. To receive “a-g” credit, a high school course must be certified through the UC course approval process.

Here is the list of "a-g", with the number of years required in each subject. UC recommends additional years in some areas as indicated.
  1. History/Social Science (2 years)
  2. English (4 years)
  3. Mathematics (3 years, UC recommends 4)
  4. Laboratory Science (2 years, UC recommends 3)
  5. Language other than English (2 years, UC recommends 3)
  6. Visual/Performing Arts (1 year)
  7. College Preparatory Elective (1 year)

DATA DASHBOARD K-8  (click to enlarge)

CST Science

Until the state creates a new end of year Science assessment, all fifth and eighth grade students will continue to take the California Standards Test (CST) in Science. Students must score 350 or above to meet the goal of demonstrating proficiency.
English Learners

The goal for all English Learners is to become proficient in English and grade level standards. Modesto begins the reclassification process in fourth grade; however, we monitor students in grades one through three to ensure they are on track for reclassification.

To be reclassified as being English proficient, student must show proficiency in the following areas:
  1. California English Language Development Test (CELDT)
  2. California Standards Test (CST)
  3. Grades in core classes: Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Science

DIBELS is a universal screener to measure basic early literacy skills. It is used to identify students at-risk in reading, help teachers identify areas to target instructional support, monitor progress, and evaluate effectiveness of prescribed interventions. The graph below demonstrates the percentage growth for kindergarten and first grade students meeting benchmark when comparing the beginning of the year assessment to the end of the year.
8th Graders Passing All Core Classes

Passing core classes in English language arts, math, science and social science is an indicator for junior high students in determining their preparedness for high school. The goal is for all junior high students to pass core classes each year.
We are currently revising District benchmarks in the following areas that will be monitored to reflect growth: Math Proficiency, Reading Proficiency, and Writing.